Get the Support You Need

Learn from thousands of users who have made their way through our courses. Need help getting started? Watch this short video.

today's top discussions:

logo

Challenging Worry

Ashley -> Health Educator

2024-04-20 11:42 PM

Depression Community

logo

Hello

Linda Q

2024-04-11 5:06 AM

Anxiety Community

logo

Addiction

2024-04-08 3:54 PM

Managing Drinking Community

logo

New Year's Resolutions

2024-03-25 2:47 AM

Managing Drinking Community

This Month’s Leaders:

Most Supportive

Browse through 411.748 posts in 47.053 threads.

160,498 Members

Please welcome our newest members: Fwcl, anonymeLouise, RDANIELA NICOLE, Lfr, CPADUA

Supporting Each Other-Monday

14 years ago 0 420 logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo 0
Hi again everyone:

I do want to say that I am not against meds and if they help you thats wonderful.  Just because they didn't help me doesn't make them bad for everyone. I have had a lot of personal experience of my own with meds over the years and came to the decision that meds are not the answer for me.  I am not going to name all the different meds that the va put my husband on for his ptsd he got from being in combat in Vietnam for 3yrs and then later for the dementia that he developed but I can tell you that they did not help him and that I watched him die a horrible death over a 4 to 5 yr period.  His was in a state of extreme fear and panic most of the time.  As for myself I took meds back in the 70's and they really messed me up until I finally had a break down at 22yrs of age.  Later in the 90's I tried some meds for the beginning stages of  my agoraphoia was on them for 6 months was ok then one day I began to feel extreme rage. I went off the meds and was ok again except for anxiety.  When my husband passed away in 2003 I tried taking meds again for the grief, ptsd, anxiety and depression that I was having.  It was a real nightmare for me I started having bad nightmares and couldn't wake myself u