Get the Support You Need

Learn from thousands of users who have made their way through our courses. Need help getting started? Watch this short video.

today's top discussions:

logo

Challenging Worry

Ashley -> Health Educator

2024-04-20 11:42 PM

Depression Community

logo

Hello

Linda Q

2024-04-11 5:06 AM

Anxiety Community

logo

Addiction

Ashley -> Health Educator

2024-04-08 3:54 PM

Managing Drinking Community

This Month’s Leaders:

Most Supportive

Browse through 411.749 posts in 47.054 threads.

160,525 Members

Please welcome our newest members: PearlCat19, mima, FrannyLou, AABBYGAIL RUTH, ALAICA

I am a newbie to the program/ question?

9 years ago 0 6252 logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo 0
Years ago after my recovery my Therapist said to me that I have too much experience and that if I tried to help anyone it would hurt. It would hurt because I can feel their pain. But that is the extent of my recovery that I can feel their pain and have it not trigger a panic attack in me. And if it does it is so mild it doesn't matter. 
We are not born with panic attacks, only the potential under the right conditions so we call it recovery. There is nothing to cure since it is not a disease. It isn't inherited but acquired through life experiences. Still cured is a good word for what happens to change this disorder. I will keep you on the path to recovery but you will do the work. There is a lot of information in forums. Some you might not understand and some you will be surprised at. I coined a phrase that people who win say is true, "this is the hardest simple thing you will ever do" But do it and you will never be sorry. That is the best I can do because I don't know your determination.

People here are in various stages of recovery, they can help you too. So welcome to a new you and a better life.

Davit
9 years ago 0 3 logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo logo 0
Hi Davit